Board Members

The board and its staff are responsible for the long-term development and direction of The James Gang. All Board members volunteer their time and work on developing new endeavors while maintaining and improving current ones.


JENNIFER COLVILLE :: Jennifer Colville is a writer, teacher and mother of two. She holds a Ph.D. in English from the University of Utah, and an MFA in fiction from Syracuse University. She’s published in such national publications as The Huffington Post, the Mississippi Review and DIAGRAM, and has taught at San Francisco State, USF, the UofA, and the University of Iowa. A lover of visual and verbal combinations, she created PromptPress as a venue for cross disciplinary inspiration between visual artists and writers.

RILEY CURRY :: Millennials for Climate Action

CASSANDRA ELTON :: Cassandra has a BA in English (2009), a graduate certificate in Book Studies/Book Arts and Technology (2012), and an MLS in Library and Information Science (2015). She became involved with the James Gang in 2012 when she presented them with the crazy idea to start an independent library in Iowa City. She serves as the Library Director of the Antelope Lending Library and Treasurer of The James Gang. She currently feeds her family by working as the Youth Services Librarian at the Solon Public Library.

DEVON FRIESE :: Devon is co-executive producer for Floodwater Comedy Festival. An Iowa City native, he studied and worked as a producer and first assistant director in the film Industry in Iowa and Los Angeles. He returned to Iowa City to help manage local fine dining restaurant, Devotay, and produces a variety of events around town. He is eager to expand Iowa City’s legacy as a hub for Arts and Entertainment.

CECILE GODING :: The Machine Stops Opera Group

JENNIFER GRAHAM :: Jennifer is a graduate of Loras College with a major in Mathematics. She works as a web developer for the University of Iowa. She is treasurer of the Iowa Tech Chicks, who works to encourage and support girls who are interested in STEM by providing activities, workshops and scholarships.

NINA LOHMAN:: Nina Lohman is a writer, editor, and instigator, as well as the Publisher of Brink. She is the Associate Development Director for Strengthen Grow Evolve, an Iowa City-based effort to build The Greatest Small City for the Arts. She is the Nonfiction Editor at PromptPress, an interdisciplinary book-arts journal that pairs writers and visual artists to create and publish new work. Her writing has appeared in The Huffington Post, Paste Magazine, The Rumpus, Essay Daily, The Other Journal, Earth Island Journal, and elsewhere.

JOHN REARICK :: DrupalCorn

LISA ROBERTS :: Iowa City Poetry

TRICIA WINDSCHITL:: Tricia has a M.S. in Early Childhood Education and is a preschool teacher/director. She was inspired in 2018 by a group of her preschoolers who wanted to do something to help the Earth and its animals that are being harmed by plastics. The children created “The Iowa City Straw-

Less Initiative.” To help spread their message and carry on their young voices, Tricia created the LENA Project: IC Less Plastic. Tricia also enjoys taking walks and drinking coffee (in her re-usable coffee cup of course!)

The James Gang is eternally grateful to all of the past board members who have shaped the James Gang and its endeavors over the years:

Aaron Schaefer • Analia Alegre-Femenias • Eric Asboe • Ellie Azoff • Jared Bazzell • Luke Benson • Elizabeth June Bergman • Daniel Boscaljon • Mike Brooks • Heather Byers• Jenny Colville • Micheal Crisholhm •Anne Craig • Denise Dooley •Carson Eggland • Cassi Elton • Josh Eklow • Jesse Elliot • Andrea Flemming • Emily Ginsberg • Cassie Gonzalez • Jennifer Graham • Spencer Griffin • Hans Hoerschelman • Zach Hoyt • Daniel Kahlastchi • Kim Kullmer • Margaret Larson • Tyler Lechtenberg • Leigh Lewis • Dora Malech • Carol McVey • Forrest Meggers • Joe Mrkonich • Rob Pilaszewski• Mark Polanzak • Luke Prottsman • Jacek Pruski • Sarah Rades • Katie Roche • Katie Ross • Sheila Samuelson • Laura Savage • Michael Schmitz • Shanti Sellz • Miguel Soria • Andy Stoll • David Strackany • Amanda Styron • Shannon Thomas • Arthur Stewart • Ryan West • Rachel Yoder